Subscriber Login

Forgotten your password?


Platelet-Specific Antigens 


Harriet S. Meyer

The current system of human platelet antigen (HPA) nomenclature, adopted in 1990, is overseen by the Platelet Nomenclature Committee of the ISBT and the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis. As with blood groups, there are platelet antigen systems and specific antigens within those systems. The HPA nomenclature pertains to “all protein alloantigens expressed on the platelet membrane, except those coded by genes of the major histocompatibility complex (MHC).”(p241) (See , Immunology, HLA/Major Histocompatibility Complex.) Currently, there are 6 HPA systems: HPA-1, HPA-2, HPA-3, HPA-4, HPA-5, and HPA-15. Complete tables of HPA terms are available at the IPD-HPA Database,

AMA Manual of Style requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .