Show Summary Details
Page of



Harriet S. Meyer

Page of

PRINTED FROM AMA MANUAL OF STYLE ONLINE ( © American Medical Association, 2009. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the license agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in AMA Manual of Style Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 29 January 2020

Most nerves have names (eg, ulnar nerve or nervus ulnaris). English names are preferred to Latin. For terminology, consult a medical dictionary, anatomy text, or Terminologia Anatomica. The cranial nerves are as follows: Use roman numerals or English names when designating cranial nerves: Cranial nerves III, IV, and VI are responsible for ocular movement. The oculomotor, trochlear, and abducens nerves are responsible for ocular movement. Use ordinals when the numeric adjectival form is used: The third, fourth, and sixth cranial nerves are responsible for ocular movement. These entities share a common nomenclature, deriving from spinal anatomic regions: cervical (neck), thoracic

Access to the complete content on AMA Manual of Style requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.